Refining Gravity

While the initial mechanic I implemented for manipulating a ball felt natural at first, I soon realised that the influence of the force ‘on click’ was proportionately greater with distance. While this would be appropriate for a spring based force, it is not suited to my idea of using gravitational fields to manipulate & guide objects. To make this feel more natural and suit the purpose of the game, I needed to reverse this effect so that greater distances will lessen the force’s influence and also introduce a maximum distance for the force to be effective at all.

To do this I introduced a number of zones, indicated by the green rings, that multiply/limit the force to a certain amount. With only three zones the result is not ideal, so I plan to play around with the number/radius of increments until I find a good balance.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment